This post if more for me than for my readers, as few as there may be, so sorry about the public brainstorming session I am having.

……..and yes, I know, I KNOW it has been way too long since I actually wrote something.

 

I realize I can’t do it all. It has taken over 30 years of life for me to realize this, but I’ve started thinking lately about the things I CAN do, at least to some degree of success.

1. Homesteading is out….at least for now. I would still love to someday be self-sufficient, but at this stage I still feel like I have too much to learn, and it is just not in my foreseeable future.

2. Maple syrup. We have a run down small barn that would make a perfect sugar shack. I would love to grow this part of what we do to make it something we can eventually sell.

3. Pickles. Easy to grow. Easy to perserve. Delicious. Need I say more?

4. Chickens. I love them. I love their eggs. I want more ducks. Again, another area we could eventually grow. Maybe meat chickens??

5. Jelly. I make a mean jalapeno jelly. It is delicious. We have grape vines (which I just finished harvesting and juicing and will be making jelly soon). I can grow jalapenos, strawberries, blueberries, and apples. I could grow and process them all for jelly.

6. Bees. I still want them. I don’t think it’s in the cards for this upcoming year (although I will try my hardest). Maybe the year after, after I get a solid handle on everything else.

7. Soaps…ok, so this is a new thing too. I’ve entertained the thought of making all natural body care products for a while. It’s on my mind, but not in the plans yet.

Even looking at this list of things I can and already do, it is daunting, but much of it is seasonal.

 

 

…seriously falling asleep at the keyboard now. Posting without proofing. Don’t judge. Pleaseeeeeeeeeeeee.

 

(those extra E’s were an accident caused by brief dozing)

Leave a comment